Saturday 15th September 2018
10am to 4pm
Albion Explorer – A quiz for children
Albion United Reformed Church, Stamford Street East, Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester, OL6 6QQ
Albion URC’s Grade ll* gothic style building was completed in 1895. Hammerbeam roof with angelic support as in the Palace of Westminster. Stained glass by Burne-Jones, installed by William Morris. Lewis Grade ll organ playing intermittently. Pilkington tile war memorial designed by Gordon M. Forsyth and many names have been researched to commemorate WWl. Church marriage registers on display plus19th century baptismal records. History board showing Albion’s past from 1780s onwards with many artefacts on show.
Members of the congregation, dressed in Victorian costume will be available to share some of our history. This year there will be ALBION EXPLORER PACKS for use by children to help them discover interesting facts about this magnificent building.
Albion Church is on Stamford Street East, Ashton-under-Lyne OL6 6QQ: access is from Mossley Road (B6194) or from Park Parade (A635) heading towards Stalybridge – the church is signposted on the left after the telephone exchange / Albion Church traffic lights.